Resources

08 Sep 2020

How Much of These Hills Is Gold - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title How Much of These Hills Is Gold by C Pam Zhang by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 c pam zhang insta
08 Sep 2020

Love and Other Thought Experiments - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Love and Other Thought Experiments by Sophie Ward by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 sophie ward insta
08 Sep 2020

Shuggie Bain - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 douglas stuart  insta
08 Sep 2020

Redhead by the Side of the Road - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Redhead by the Side of the Road by Anne Tyler by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 anne tyler  insta
08 Sep 2020

Real Life - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Real Life by Brandon Taylor by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 rea life  insta
08 Sep 2020

Such a Fun Age - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 kiley reid  insta
08 Sep 2020

The Shadow King - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Shadow King by Maaza Mengiste by clicking below.

Thumb 200727  shadow king   insta
08 Sep 2020

Apeirogon - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Apeirogon by Colum McCann by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 colum mccann insta
08 Sep 2020

The Mirror and the Light - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 hilary mantel insta
08 Sep 2020

Who They Was - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Who They Was by Gabriel Krauze by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 gabriel krauze insta
08 Sep 2020

Burnt Sugar - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title Burnt Sugar by Avni Doshi by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 avni doshi insta
08 Sep 2020

This Mournable Body - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title This Mournable Body by Tsitsi Dangarembga by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 mournable body insta
08 Sep 2020

The New Wilderness - Readers' Guide

In July 2020 the Booker Prize revealed the longlist for the 2020 prize. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The New Wilderness by Diane Cook by clicking below.

Thumb 200727 diane cook insta
03 Sep 2020

International Dot Day - Special Event Packs

Celebrate International Dot Day on 15th-ish September! International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity, courage and collaboration, began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009. Now, every 15-ish September, more than 10 million teachers, librarians, and children in 170 countries participate in International Dot Day, making their mark by getting busy with writing, drawing, painting, or other creative outlets and...

Thumb international dot day
02 Sep 2020

September 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Back to School Books

Starting back at school can be an anxious time for lots of children and young people, let alone after the Covid-19 lockdown. To help support this transition, we have created a booklist of stories where characters face issues that some students may worry about and books that can give some helpful advice. You can join in with the conversation online using #BackToSchoolBooklist and tagging us using @readingagency on Twitter and @SummerReadingChallengeUK on Facebook. Our Reading Well team have...

Thumb full composite
28 Aug 2020

#HarperFictionReadingWeekend digital assets for libraries

Summer holidays across the country have been cancelled, but HarperFiction wants library users to celebrate the August bank holiday by taking part in the #HarperFictionReadingWeekend! We’d love for libraries to share some of HarperFiction’s beautiful social media assets encouraging users to borrow one of their summer read top picks this weekend. The assets are suitable for use across Twitter and Facebook and can be downloaded via the link below. The summer reads top picks list...

Thumb harperfiction facebook header
28 Aug 2020

YA Booklist - Reading Hack Recommendations

If you’re a fan of YA lit or are looking for books to engage young people, check out our latest YA reading recommendations, all chosen by young adults. See what our reviewers thought of each title over on the Reading Hack blog Download this resource for a list of print and eBook ISBNs.

Thumb summer 2020 recommendations
27 Aug 2020

Reading group guide for For When I'm Gone by Rebecca Ley

Sylvia knows that she’s running out of time. Very soon, she will exist only in the memories of those who loved her most and the pieces of her life she’s left behind. So she begins to write her husband a handbook for when she’s gone, somewhere to capture the small moments of ordinary, precious happiness in their married lives. But Sylvia also has a secret, one that she’s saved until the very last pages. And it’s a moment in her past that could change...

Thumb for when i m gone cover
24 Aug 2020

How to draw Mossy the Fox with David Roberts

David Roberts, illustrator of Julian Clary’s Bolds books, shows us how he draws Mossy the fox. The Bold family seems fairly normal: they live in a nice house, the parents have good jobs, and they all love to have fun. One slight difference: they’re hyenas. That’s right—they’re covered in fur, have tails tucked into their clothes, and really, really like to laugh. For years, the Bolds have kept their true identities under wraps. But now the neighbors are getting...

Thumb the bolds
20 Aug 2020

Molly Mischief: My Perfect Pet

Molly Mischief: My Perfect Pet by Adam Hargreaves is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This resource includes fun colouring sheets and puzzles to enjoy. Visit the Pavilion website for more great titles and resources.

Thumb molly mischief cover
18 Aug 2020

InvestiGators by John Patrick Green - activity pack

They’re Alligators – and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the new full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man. Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere! With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on...

Thumb investigators  hb   smaller
18 Aug 2020

Bug Belly Creator Study

Bug Belly: Babysitting Trouble by Paul Morton is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This resource includes a special look into Paul Morton’s process for writing and illustrating Bug Belly. Featuring fun facts and behind-the-scenes sketches, it’s ideal for inspiring young creators. Visit the Five Quills website for more great titles and resources.

Thumb bug belly
18 Aug 2020

Wonderful Non-fiction Chatterbooks Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for wonderful non-fiction books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Merry the Giraffe from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things, learning cool things from non-fiction books. We hope you enjoy the books as well as the discussion and activity ideas, and further reading suggestions. We hope you enjoy the books as well as the discussion and activity ideas, and...

Thumb nf cbx pack
11 Aug 2020

How reading can promote writing for pleasure article

We believe that through reading a wide variety of books and texts, children can improve their vocabulary and grow more confident with their own writing ability. To help you with this, we have collated a host of resources and useful websites that you can use with your students for their creative writing. Find more resources on our School Zone.

Thumb src upload logo to use
10 Aug 2020

When Secrets Set Sail – Blue Plaque Project

When Secrets Set Sail is the breathtaking new adventure from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari. Set in London, adoptive sisters Usha and Imtiaz must race to uncover the secrets of their family’s past, in order to save their home. In the story, Usha and Imtiaz discover that their house has an incredible history and was home to some very interesting people. Inspired by their adventure, why not research the history of your house, street or local area and see what you can discover? Download...

Thumb wsss packshot
10 Aug 2020

Mermaid School - Telling Tails writing activity

Marnie Blue’s class at Lady Sealia Foam’s Mermaid School are holding a cake sale to raise money for their school trip to the Mermaid Lagoon castle. Aunt Christabel says she’ll help Marnie, Pearl and Orla to bake some special treats to sell. On a new sheet of paper write a story about what happens.

Thumb mermaid school
10 Aug 2020

Mermaid School - Create your own radio station activity sheet

In the Mermaid School books, Christabel Blue is a very successful DJ, with her own Big Blue Show on Radio SeaWave. In the activity sheet children can imagine they have their own show on mermaid radio. Filled with fabulous fishy fun, the Mermaid School series is perfect for fans of Unicorn Academy and Dork Diaries!

Thumb mermaid school
06 Aug 2020

Reading guide for Victoria Hislop's THE ISLAND

A reading guide for Victoria Hislop’s multi-million copy seller, THE ISLAND. Find out how to win 10 copies of The Island for your reading group (offer closes 7 September)

Thumb the island cover
05 Aug 2020

August 2020 - Comics, graphic novels and illustrated books booklists for children and young people

This month our booklist features comics, graphic novels and illustrated books that we think will draw children and young people into the story. We love comics, graphic novels and books that have beautiful illustrations, as well as being fun they can be important to a child’s reading journey. You can join in with the conversation online using #DrawInBooklist and tagging us using @readingagency on Twitter and @SummerReadingChallengeUK on Facebook.

Thumb full composite
30 Jul 2020

Keith Among the Pigeons Activity Pack

Keith Among the Pigeons by Katie Brosnan is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This Keith Among the Pigeons pack includes a cat and pigeon masks, colouring sheets, puzzles and more activities to enjoy at home, in the library, or at school. Find out more about this title on the Summer Reading Challenge website. Visit the Child’s Play website for more great titles and resources.

Thumb keith among the pigeons   child s play cover