Skip to content

Book reviews

Find your local library to borrow or reserve a book.

Buy books for you or your group from hive.co.uk to support The Reading Agency and local bookshops at no additional cost to you.

Browse The Reading Agency booklists on bookshop.org to find a range of recommended titles for adults and children. Sales will support The Reading Agency’s work and independent bookshops.

Read on for our recommended reads. You can also search for any book you have read and leave a review, or search for a book to see what other readers thought.

Debuts of 2022

November marks National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo (as it’s more commonly known). We want to celebrate some of our favourite debut authors of 2022. From edge-of-your-seat thrillers to thought-provoking explorations of culture and belonging, there’s something for everyone! Dive in today and don’t forget to tell us what you thought of any of the books on the list by tagging us on social media using #booklist and tagging @readingagency! Find out more about the list.

Yinka, Where is Your Huzband?: The hilarious and heartfelt romcom everyone is talking about in 2022 by Lizzie Damilola Blackburn

Yinka, Where is Your Huzband?: The hilarious and heartfelt romcom everyone is talking about in 2022

Lizzie Damilola Blackburn

Peach Blossom Spring: A glorious, sweeping novel about family, migration and the search for a place to belong by Melissa Fu

Peach Blossom Spring: A glorious, sweeping novel about family, migration and the search for a place to belong

Melissa Fu

The Pharmacist: The must-read, gripping speculative thriller debut of 2022 by Rachelle Atalla

The Pharmacist: The must-read, gripping speculative thriller debut of 2022

Rachelle Atalla

The Flames: A gripping historical novel set in 1900s Vienna, featuring four fiery women by Sophie Haydock

The Flames: A gripping historical novel set in 1900s Vienna, featuring four fiery women

Sophie Haydock

Metronome: The 'unputdownable' BBC Two Between the Covers Book Club Pick by Tom Watson

Metronome: The 'unputdownable' BBC Two Between the Covers Book Club Pick

Tom Watson

Lessons in Chemistry: The No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller and BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick by Bonnie Garmus

Lessons in Chemistry: The No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller and BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick

Bonnie Garmus

Seventeen: Last Man Standing. The most intense and thrilling read of 2022, for fans of Jason Bourne and James Bond by John Brownlow

Seventeen: Last Man Standing. The most intense and thrilling read of 2022, for fans of Jason Bourne and James Bond

John Brownlow

Lightseekers: Intelligent, suspenseful and utterly engrossing by Femi Kayode

Lightseekers: Intelligent, suspenseful and utterly engrossing

Femi Kayode

WAKE: An extraordinarily powerful debut mystery about a missing persons case, for fans of Jane Harper by Shelley Burr

WAKE: An extraordinarily powerful debut mystery about a missing persons case, for fans of Jane Harper

Shelley Burr

The Hive by Scarlett Brade

The Hive

Scarlett Brade

The Mutual Friend: the unmissable debut novel from the co-creator of How I Met Your Mother by Carter Bays

The Mutual Friend: the unmissable debut novel from the co-creator of How I Met Your Mother

Carter Bays

Yearbook 2022

The results are in! To celebrate National Reading Group Day on 14 September, we asked you for your recommendations for our 2022 Yearbook – the books that have made your group laugh, cry debate and more over the past year. We loved reading your recommendations and had a hard time selecting which books to put on our list. We hope that you enjoy them! Tell us what you thought of any of the books on the list by tagging us on social media using #booklist and tagging @readingagency!

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

Jonas Jonasson

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner

Khaled Hosseini

The Bees by Laline Paull

The Bees

Laline Paull

A Gentleman in Moscow: The worldwide bestseller by Amor Towles

A Gentleman in Moscow: The worldwide bestseller

Amor Towles

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

The Girl with the Louding Voice: A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick by Abi Dare

The Girl with the Louding Voice: A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick

Abi Dare

Magpie by Elizabeth Day

Magpie

Elizabeth Day

Klara and the Sun: Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2021 by Kazuo Ishiguro

Klara and the Sun: Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2021

Kazuo Ishiguro

The Blood Tide (DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 2) by Neil Lancaster

The Blood Tide (DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 2)

Neil Lancaster

Themed booklists

We’ve collected together some of our previous booklists on a variety of themes and topics. Take a look to find your next read.

Debuts of 2022
Poetry Recommendations
Yearbook 2022
Escape with a Book
Refugee Week 2022
Local and Community History Month
Autism
Wonder Women
LGBT+ History Month 2022
Hope
Books of the Year 2021
Noteworthy Non-Fiction
Perfect Poetry
The Power of Reading
For the Love of Books

View our other programmes