Skip to content

City of Spies - digital resources

‘Another gripping, revealing historical adventure from Lawrence and well worth sharing.’
– Books for Keeps

A thrilling spy adventure set in New York during the American Revolution that will have readers gripped. The perfect high-action adventure for fans of Horrible Histories, Emma Carroll and Hamilton.

About the book

It’s 1780 and the American Revolution is raging. In New York, twelve-year-old Aiden Blaise is sure that the British will win soon. How can a few rebel colonies hold out against the might of the British crown? And anyway he’s more concerned with somehow managing to rise above his lot in life and make his fortune. But New York is a powder keg of soldiers and spies, and soon Aiden will be drawn into the fight for freedom in a way he could never have predicted…

• Meet intriguing historical figures like George Washington, Benedict Arnold and James Rivington
• Join the Culper Spy Ring
• Learn how lemons can be used to make invisible ink!

Share your photos on social media using #CityOfSpies and tagging @KidsBloomsbury @BloomsburyEd @iszi_lawrence and @readingagency.

News

Radio 2 Book Club - Winter titles

The Winter season of the Radio 2 Book Club is out now, with brilliant brand-new fiction titles to discover. The BBC Radio 2 Book Club is on the Zoe Ball Breakfast Show. It features a wide range of titles and authors, recommending great reads from both new and much-loved writers, encouraging listeners to perhaps try out a genre they might not have read before, and share their opinions and insights on the titles and great reads they’re enjoying right now.

Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started. You can also download icebreaker questions to help get your discussion started, and a social media guide to show how you can share your reading with others online.

News

UK’s Best Book Festivals of 2024

The UK is full of book festivals, and as we head into the summer, they’re popping up all over the country and are perfect for your book club to have a day, weekend or even week out. Book festivals are a brilliant opportunity to hear from your favourite writers, discover new ones, and meet other like-minded booklovers. You’ll be sure to walk away with a bag full of new books to enjoy! We’ve put together a list of some of our team’s favourite festivals. Can’t see one near you? You can watch...

View our other programmes