Piggy Hero by Pip Jones - Activity pack and competition

Jacket cover

Piggy Hero

‘Jeffry, I’m no mere guinea pig! I’m a Handsome. And Handsomes have always been famous. I simply cannot be the only Handsome in history to not be famous.’

Piggy Handsome is a very confident guinea pig with a hugely inflated ego – he hails from a long line of very famous guinea pigs. But sadly Handsome STILL hasn’t achieved world renown. Well, now he has a new plan to get his name on the telly – he’ll be someone’s hero!

Faber Children’s have created a brilliant activity pack which can be used in libraries, schools or at home.

The packs includes: Colouring Sheets, Disguise-drawing and a wordsearch.

The publisher would love to see how you use the pack. You can do this on social media using #PiggyHero and tag @FaberChildrens, @readingagency and the author @PipsJones. We will like and share as much as possible.

There is also a brilliant competition. All the children have to do is send in a photo or drawing of your pet, and describe what they would be famous for! Use your imagination as much as possible.

The winner of the most creative drawing or description will win a signed & dedicated copy of Piggy Handsome and Piggy Hero by Pip Jones. You can find out more on the Summer Reading Challenge competition page.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image