The Coffin Path by Katherine Clements

9781472204301

If you’re looking for a spooky read this autumn for your book group look no further than Katherine Clements THE COFFIN PATH! There’s a reading guide here and more info about the book below.

Longlisted for the HWA Gold Crown

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder’s Sister and The Silent Companions, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone.

‘Spine-tingling… the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time’ Barbara Erskine ‘A wonderful, macabre evocation of a lost way of life’ The Times ‘Like something from Emily Bronte’s nightmares’ Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London

Maybe you’ve heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there’s something up here, something evil.

Mercy Booth isn’t afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father’s study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.

When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can’t see it yet.

What readers are saying about The Coffin Path:

‘A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night’

‘Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge’

‘I couldn’t put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen’

We’d like to offer three lucky reading groups 10 x paperback copies of the book to read this autumn. And once they’ve read to let us know what they think! If you’d like to propose your reading group please let us know why you think you would be perfect in 200 words or less by 30th November. Simply email jo.liddiard@headline.co.uk to explain why.

News

4 Reasons to be on Social Media

Why should you be on social media? There are some offers that require groups to be active online, so by using these platforms, you’ll be eligible for more exciting opportunities. Here are our top reasons for groups to be joining in online.

Medium social media logos
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive