WIN copies of House of Gold by Natasha Solomons and a luxury hamper

9781786330086

To celebrate the publication of HOUSE OF GOLD, a captivating story of war, power and family, we’re giving one book group the chance to win up to ten copies and a delicious Virginia Hayward treat hamper.

‘Such is the power and wealth of the Goldbaums that on dull days, it’s said, they hire the sun just for themselves.’

The Goldbaums’ influence reaches across Europe. They are the confidants and bankers of governments and emperors. Little happens without their say-so and even less without their knowledge. But Greta Goldbaum has no say at all in who she’ll marry.

While power lies in wealth, strength lies in family. Greta’s union with cousin Albert will strengthen the bond between the Austrian and the English branches of the dynasty. It is sensible and strategic. Greta is neither.

Defiant and unhappy, she is desperate to find a place that belongs to her, free from duty and responsibility. But just as she begins to taste an unexpected happiness, the Great War is looming and even the Goldbaums can’t alter its course. For the first time in two hundred years, the family will find themselves on opposing sides.

The House of Goldbaum, along with Europe herself, is about to break apart.

A captivating story of war, power and family from the author of The Song Collector, Natasha Solomons. HOUSE OF GOLD is perfect for fans of The Crown.

#HOUSEOFGOLD @NATASHASOLOMONS

BONUS OFFER: Our friends at Virginia Hayward hampers have also kindly offered all book groups a 15% discount code on any of their hampers until 31st May using the code GOLD.

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image