What's the spookiest thing that’s happened in your library?

Large hoarder 2

We’ve teamed up with independent publisher, Canongate, to bring you an exciting competition to celebrate the paperback release of the mesmerizing novel from Jess Kidd, The Hoarder.

Picked for the BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club, The Hoarder will appeal to fans of Andrew Michael Hurley’s The Loney, Emma Healey’s Elizabeth is Missing and Kate Atkinson’s Behind the Scenes at the Museum.

The story

Unintentional psychic Maud Drennan arrives to look after Cathal Flood, a belligerent man hiding in his filthy, cat-filled home.

Her job is simple: clear the rubbish, take care of the patient. But the once-grand house has more to reveal than simply its rooms. There is a secret here, and whether she likes it or not, Maud may be the one to finally uncover what has previously been kept hidden . . .

You can read an extract and download a reading guide.

The competition

To enter the competition, all you have to do is tell us the spookiest thing that’s happened in your library. Did you see a shadowy figure behind the bookshelves? Or perhaps the books were being moved around at night? Share your answer by email or on Twitter using #TheHoarder and tagging @ReadingAgency and @Canongate books.

The prize

The prize is a fabulous Halloween hamper and five signed copies of The Hoarder.

Open to UK residents only. The deadline for entries is Monday 22 October.

Comments

Log in or Sign up to add a comment

News

National Reading Group Day 2019

This year, National Reading Group Day will take place on 15 June, and to celebrate we want you to tell us the books that inspire you to make a change in the world. Both fiction and non-fiction books can be an incredibly powerful way of encouraging us to take action and stand up for what we believe in, and we want to know which books get your group talking about the world and how you can make a difference.

Medium logo 2019
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive