Queenie

Book
Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

By Candice Carty-Williams

avg rating

1 review

Find your local library.

Buy this book from hive.co.uk to support The Reading Agency and local bookshops at no additional cost to you.

Queenie Jenkins can’t cut a break.

Well, apart from the one from her long term boyfriend, Tom.

That’s definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Then there’s her boss who doesn’t seem to see her and her Caribbean family who don’t seem to listen (if it’s not Jesus or water rates, they’re not interested).

She’s trying to fit in two worlds that don’t really understand her.

It’s no wonder she’s struggling. She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, QUEENIE will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity, and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way. Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Elizabeth Day, Sally Rooney and Diana Evans, and anyone who loved Fleabag.

Reviews

08 Jun 2019

I loved this book. It's honest, tender, funny and makes you think about the status quo.

From the noticeboard