Mari Hannah wins CWA 2017 Dagger in the Library

Large cwa logo

At a reception at the British Library on Saturday 17 June, Mari Hannah was revealed as the winner of this year’s CWA Dagger in the Library.

The Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire. In 2017 we worked alongside the CWA to involve reading groups in reaching the shortlist and winner stages. However, the Dagger in the Library is unique among crime-writing awards in that only library staff are able to make the original author nominations.

Martin Edwards, Chair of the CWA, said:

“At a time when the CWA is expanding its support for public and independent libraries, I am delighted to congratulate Mari. Her DCI Kate Daniels books, set in the North East, are tremendously popular and we know they’re eagerly devoured by library goers and book groups. Congratulations also to the quintet of superb shortlisted authors: Kate Ellis, James Oswald, Tara French, CJ Sansom and Andrew Taylor on reaching the shortlist stage of what is a highly competitive award.”

Mari Hannah

Small mari hannah pic   marihannahalexanderjames 0286

When an assault on duty ended her career as a Probation Officer, award-winning author Mari Hannah turned to scriptwriting, creating a number of projects, most notably the pilot episode of a crime series for the BBC based on the characters in her debut The Murder Wall. The Kate Daniels series is in development with Stephen Fry’s production company, Sprout Pictures. She is reader-in-residence for Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.

The full shortlist

Andrew Taylor
C J Sansom
James Oswald
Kate Ellis
Mari Hannah
Tana French

Get involved

We have more information about the authors and their books, as well as discussion questions on our resources page.

Do you agree with the judges? What’s your favourite Mari Hannah book? Comment below or share your thoughts with us on Twitter using #CWA2017 or on the CWA’s Facebook.

Sign up to our free monthly Reading Groups for Everyone newsletter, to make sure you never miss the latest news and opportunities.


Log in or Sign up to add a comment


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image