Space Tortoise by Ross Montgomery and David Litchfield - competition

Faber   space tortoise jacket

h2.Space Tortoise

Once, in an old rusty bin in an old rusty playground in an old empty park there lived a little tortoise.

But Tortoise is lonely. He’s never seen any other tortoises, and wonders where they could all be hiding. Then, one day, he looks up and the night sky, and sees a million blinking lights winking at him. “That must be where the other tortoises are – at the top of the sky! I wish I could join them.” But how can a little tortoise get to the top of the sky? And so begins a magical journey…

A beautiful, moving and heartwarming tale about bravery, kindness and welcoming strangers, from the team behind The Building Boy.


Win a cuddly tortoise and a copy of the heartwarming new book, Space Tortoise, by Ross Montgomery and David Lichfield.

To enter, download the competition page and tweet a photo of your entry using #SpaceTortoise. Alternatively, you can also email or send entries to the addresses listed on the competition page.

The competition closes 18th May.

Terms and conditions

The closing date is Friday 18th May
Competition is open to UK residents only
The judges’ will select a winner from all entries and their decision is final


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image