The Rose Muddle Mysteries - local history activity and competition

Final  rosemuddle the amber pendant  002

The Rose Muddle Mysteries

The Rose Muddle Mysteries series by Imogen White is inspired by a real-life historical artefact called the Hove Amber Cup. Many years ago, the cup was found beneath an enormous burial mound which once stood in the centre of the town. Imogen started to imagine who was once buried there and why. What had they done to be buried in such a grand way? Why were they buried with an amber cup?

Magical stories exist wherever you live, even in towns and cities.

Research your local history and see if you can find any interesting figures who might inspire a story. Here’s a fun activity sheet to help you do just this.

Competition – send in your group’s activity sheets for a great prize

To win a signed copy of The Amber Pendant and a set of 10 creative writing and history books from Usborne, return the completed activity sheets by 27 October 2017.

You can send the entries by email, to

Or by post, to
Kimberley Sheehan,
The Reading Agency,
60 Farringdon Road,

Terms and Conditions
The closing date for the competition is Friday 27 October 2017.
Competition is open to UK residents only, and entrants must be aged 12 years or under.
The judges’ decision is final.

More about Rose Muddle

When Rose Muddle is plucked from the workhouse to become a maid in a grand mansion, she discovers that her new mistress has secret plans for her – plans which involve a strange amber pendant with extraordinary powers.

But fearsome enemies lurk in the shadows, intent on finding the mysterious pendant. As the shadows begin to close in, can Rose uncover the truth of her own destiny to stop these forces of evil?

The Rose Muddle Mysteries: The Amber Pendant by Imogen White is out now. The second book in the series – The Secret Ruby – is out in March 2018.

You can follow Imogen on Twitter: @imo0030.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image