The Sisters of Auschwitz: The true story of two Jewish sisters’ resistance in the heart of Nazi territory

9781841883731

Perfect for readers of The Tattoist of Auschwitz, The Choice and The Librarian of Auschwitz – this is the international bestselling and life-affirming true story of female bravery and surviving the horrors of Auschwitz. We’re offering one set of 10 books for a reading group.

WINNER of the Opzij Literture Prize 2019

They knew their survival depended on each other.
They had to live for each other.

It is 1940 and the Final Solution is about to begin. The Nazis have occupied The Netherlands but resistance is growing and two Jewish sisters – Janny and Lien Brilleslijper – are risking their lives to save those being hunted, through their clandestine safehouse ‘The High Nest’. It becomes one of the most important safehouses in the country but when the house and its occupants are betrayed the most terrifying time of the sisters’ lives begins. This is the beginning of the end.

With German defeat in sight, the Brilleslijper family are put on the last train to Auschwitz, along with Anne Frank and her family. What comes next challenges the sisters beyond human imagination as they are stripped of everything but their courage, resilience and love for each other.

News

Suggestions for National Poetry Day 2019

National Poetry Day generates an explosion of activity nationwide, thousands of amazing events across the UK – in schools, libraries, bookshops and hospitals, on buses, trains and boats – all celebrating poetry’s power to bring people together. 2019 is the 25th anniversary of National Poetry Day – expect the celebrations to run all year long.

Medium npd 2019 recommended reading list   book groups
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive