SLAY - reading group pack

Slay final

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and Warcross, SLAY is a dynamite YA novel about virtual reality, safe spaces and celebrating your identity.

We are offering ten reading groups a pack comprising:
- 10 copies of the book
- Discussion questions
- 10 bookmarks

Groups may also download the discussion questions.


By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is a college student, and one of the only black kids at Jefferson Academy. By night, she joins hundreds of thousands of black gamers who duel worldwide in the secret online role-playing card game, SLAY.

No one knows Kiera is the game developer – not even her boyfriend, Malcolm. But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, the media labels it an exclusionist, racist hub for thugs.

With threats coming from both inside and outside the game, Kiera must fight to save the safe space she’s created. But can she protect SLAY without losing herself?

News

A year of books with Jo Whiley on Radio 2 2019

We’re celebrating a year of fantastic books on the Radio 2 Book Club with Jo Whiley! Since January 2019, 21 of the best new fiction titles have been featured on the show. The Reading Agency has been working with the BBC since 2013, and along with a team of passionate librarians, we help select the titles that are chosen for the show. So, take a look at the 2019 Book Club titles – from household names to the hottest new talent, we’re sure you’ll find something for you and your reading group to...

Medium all 2019 titles
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive