Chris Hammer's SCRUBLANDS

9781472255143

‘Shimmers … a tortured tale of blood and loss’ Val McDermid

‘Stunning … SCRUBLANDS is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory’ Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don’t fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers – missing since the time of the massacre – are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town’s secrets stay buried.

We are delighted to offer 5 reading groups 10 copies each the bestselling Australian debut, SCRUBLANDS.

To be in with a chance of winning please tell us why you think you would be perfect in 200 words or less by the end of August. The Chris Hammer team will pick the winning groups early in September 2019. (Please note copies may be proofs or paperback but are the same fantastic book!)

And for those teams not lucky enough to win – or who can’t wait to read – some sample reading group questions are attached here!

News

Suggestions for National Poetry Day 2019

National Poetry Day generates an explosion of activity nationwide, thousands of amazing events across the UK – in schools, libraries, bookshops and hospitals, on buses, trains and boats – all celebrating poetry’s power to bring people together. 2019 is the 25th anniversary of National Poetry Day – expect the celebrations to run all year long.

Medium npd 2019 recommended reading list   book groups
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive