10 copies of M for Mammy to be won for your reading group!

9781473672376

To apply, please log in and fill in your details below before Wednesday 24 July.

For fans of Roddy Doyle and Marian Keyes, a heartwarming and funny debut of an Irish family, the Augustts, all bound together with love and language. There’s a son who doesn’t speak, a mother who has a stroke, a granny who talks enough for all of them and a daughter who is writing it all down.

‘M for Magnificent! Heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious . . . a glorious debut’ Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

‘Rambunctious’ Irish Times

Meet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated.

They are bound together by their love for each other, but each expresses themselves in a very different way. When misfortune strikes the family, they must learn to understand each other anew. Sometimes, in a family as complicated as the Augustts, it’s not always what is spoken that makes the most sense.

Everything is shaken up when Granny Mae-Anne moves in and takes charge. A force of nature, full of stern words and no-nonsense common sense, it is she who must try and hold the family together.

M for Mammy is an uplifting story about the unique comfort of home, the language we can find when the words aren’t there, and the power of a family to heal itself.

Don’t forget to tweet @johnmurrays and tag us on instagram with @johnmurrays with your thoughts and pictures of the book!

News

Suggestions for National Poetry Day 2019

National Poetry Day generates an explosion of activity nationwide, thousands of amazing events across the UK – in schools, libraries, bookshops and hospitals, on buses, trains and boats – all celebrating poetry’s power to bring people together. 2019 is the 25th anniversary of National Poetry Day – expect the celebrations to run all year long.

Medium npd 2019 recommended reading list   book groups
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive