Ask Again, Yes - Giveaway for Reading Groups

Ask again  yes

Michael Joseph is offering reading groups the opportunity to apply to read and review this gripping and compassionate family drama set between neighbours in suburban New York published on 8 August 2019.

The publisher is looking for reading groups that are active on social media and can have a meeting in August.

Fans of Ann Patchett, Celeste Ng and Colm Toibin will love this debut novel.

About the book

Gillam, upstate New York: a town of ordinary, big-lawned suburban houses. The Gleesons have recently moved there and soon welcome the Stanhopes as their new neighbours. Lonely Lena Gleeson wants a friend but Anne Stanhope – cold, elegant, unstable – wants to be left alone.

It’s up to their children – Lena’s youngest, Kate, and Anne’s only child, Peter – to find their way to one another. To form a friendship whose resilience and love will be almost broken by the fault line dividing both families, and by the terrible tragedy that will engulf them all. A tragedy whose true origins only become clear many years later . . .

A story of love and redemption, faith and forgiveness, Ask Again, Yes reveals the way childhood memories change when viewed from the distance of adulthood – villains lose their menace, and those who appeared innocent seem less so. A story of how, if we’re lucky, the violence lurking beneath everyday life can be vanquished by the power of love.

Complete the survey to apply by 16 June.

News

National Reading Group Day 2019

This year, National Reading Group Day will take place on 15 June, and to celebrate we want you to tell us the books that inspire you to make a change in the world. Both fiction and non-fiction books can be an incredibly powerful way of encouraging us to take action and stand up for what we believe in, and we want to know which books get your group talking about the world and how you can make a difference.

Medium logo 2019
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive