The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin

9781473661394

To celebrate the paperback publication of The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin, we’re offering three sets of ten paperbacks to give away to reading groups. Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Breakthrough Author Award, The Wicked Cometh is a beguiling and compelling historical mystery set in Georgian London, perfect for fans of The Witchfinder’s Sister, Fingersmith and The Essex Serpent.

‘We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .’

The year is 1831. Down murky alleyways, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and London’s vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape these slums by any means possible.

When a chance encounter thrusts Hester into the beguiling world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new existence, and lure her into the most sinister of investigations. As she finds herself dragged into the blackest heart of the city, little does she know that something more depraved than she could ever imagine is lurking…

A compelling page-turner from a gifted new voice in historical fiction.

To be in with a chance of winning a set for your reading group, simply email competition@hodder.co.uk before midnight on 31st January 2019. And don’t forget to let us know what you think on Twitter @H_forHistory!

News

National Reading Group Day 2019

This year, National Reading Group Day will take place on 15 June, and to celebrate we want you to tell us the books that inspire you to make a change in the world. Both fiction and non-fiction books can be an incredibly powerful way of encouraging us to take action and stand up for what we believe in, and we want to know which books get your group talking about the world and how you can make a difference.

Medium logo 2019
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive