A Good Enough Mother by Bev Thomas

Good enough mother

A literary psychological suspense thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lullaby.

A Good Enough Mother is a dark and gripping exploration of the complex dynamic between a patient and a therapist, and a look at the responsibility and limitations of motherhood.

Faber is giving reading groups the opportunity to read and review their lead debut for 2019.

About the book

On paper, Dan Griffin was nothing out of the ordinary. He was anxious, he was urgent, he was like any other patient we see at the Trauma Unit. ‘Unremarkable’ was how I described him to the police. When they looked for answers in those early therapy sessions, they read about the bruise on his face, the terror in his voice and the flashbacks that were so visceral they took his breath away, but there was nothing to hint at his capacity for violence.

As the director of a highly respected trauma therapy unit, Ruth Hartland is at the top of her game; she is confident, capable and excellent at her job. But her personal life paints a different picture and behind the scenes Ruth is grieving for her missing son, Tom, while trying to understand his disappearance. Is he missing? Or is he dead?

When she is referred a patient who bears a striking resemblance to Tom, she is floored. Soon her grief and guilt begin to compromise her work and boundaries become blurred.

As a therapist, Ruth knows exactly what she should do in the best interests of her client, but as a mother she makes a very different choice – a decision that will have profound consequences, culminating in a terrible act of violence.

About the author

Bev Thomas was a clinical psychologist in the NHS for many years. She currently works as an organisational consultant in mental health and other services. She lives in London with her family.

Apply by 30 Jan.

News

National Reading Group Day 2019

This year, National Reading Group Day will take place on 15 June, and to celebrate we want you to tell us the books that inspire you to make a change in the world. Both fiction and non-fiction books can be an incredibly powerful way of encouraging us to take action and stand up for what we believe in, and we want to know which books get your group talking about the world and how you can make a difference.

Medium logo 2019
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive