The Bumblebee Flies Anyway by Kate Bradbury


‘This book grows hope and shines a light on the simple brilliance of life. Wonderfully intense and honest – a poignant manual of how to grow hope against the odds.’
Chris Packham, TV presenter and author of Fingers in the Sparkle Jar

We are offering five reading groups the chance to read the beautiful memoir of life, love, loss and gardening The Bumblebee Flies Anyway by Kate Bradbury. In return we would like you to review for us.


Set amidst the chaos of new beginnings, old haunts and nearly losing everything, is the beautiful story of a garden brought back from the dead and the wildlife that returns to it.

At half an acre, Kate Bradbury’s childhood garden was her whole, wild world. She made dens, climbed trees, ambushed her sister with mud pies and learned to love. Aged ten, her parents’ divorce took her away from the wilderness she had claimed as her own.
A garden writer with a lifelong passion for wildlife, Kate has never lost the memory of that first garden. In The Bumblebee Flies Anyway, we find her newly single, carving out a new life for herself in Brighton. She buys a flat with a decked, barren backyard, which she slowly transforms into a beautiful wildlife
oasis. She documents the unbuttoning of the earth and the rebirth of the garden, the rewilding of a tiny urban space.

‘A truly inspiring account of transformation, The Bumblebee Flies Anyway made me simultaneously want to read on to the final page, and rush out to my garden.’
Melissa Harrison, author of At Hawthorn Time

Please get in touch with the contact below and tell us why your group should win a set. We are giving away 5 sets of 10 books. Closing dates for applications is 30th June 2018.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image