Hidden Sin by Julie Shaw

Hidden sin

Step into a dangerous criminal world, a place governed by gangs and corruption, with violent consequences…

Based on real-life events, Hidden Sin is the perfect true crime read for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole. We’ve got copies to give away to five reading group.

At almost eighteen, Joey Parker is a young man with big dreams. He’s desperate to escape the shackles of his window cleaning round, so when he’s offered the chance to try out as a drummer in a local Blondie tribute band, he jumps at the chance. But it isn’t just the music that moves him. It’s also the fact that Paula Foster is the lead singer. They’ve not seen each other in years, but their mutual attraction is instant.

Meanwhile, notorious local drug overlord, Rasta Mo, has recently returned to Bradford after a spell inside and years in Marbella. He is instantly enamoured with the good-looking drummer he discovers is his son. He decides that his new club is in need of a house band – and so begins his attempts to woo him, bringing Joey into a dangerous criminal underworld he has never known…

Joey is oblivious to who Mo is – the truth has always been hidden from him. All he cares about is that his and Paula’s dreams are all starting to come true. But will the cost of achieving them be a price too high to pay?


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image