Putney by Sofka Zinovieff


We are giving three reading groups the chance to read PUTNEY by Sofka Zinovieff before it is published in July, in return for reader reviews. The three winning groups will each receive a set of 10 advanced reader copies.


‘The images soothed him. They made him feel alive. The risky element was part of the pleasure.’

Up-and-coming composer Ralph is visiting Edmund Greenslay at his riverside home in Putney to discuss a collaboration. Through the house’s colourful rooms and unruly garden flits nine-year-old Daphne – dark, teasing, slippery as mercury, more sprite than boy or girl. From the moment their worlds collide, Ralph is consumed by an obsession to make Daphne his.

Years later, Daphne, now a mother to a twelve-year-old daughter, is forced to confront the truth of her childhood – and an act of violence that has lain hidden for decades.

Bold and provocative, Putney is about the moral lines we tread, the stories we tell ourselves and the secrets we bury.

If you are interested in reading this in return for a review, please get in touch with the named contact below, saying why your reading group should be selected. Closing date for this offer is 4 May 2018.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image