Win copies of Before Everything for your reading group

Before everything

From youthful scrapes to mid-life turning points, the Old Friends have faced everything together.

So as Anna, their brightest spark, enters hospice, they gather to do what they’ve always done: they laugh and eat, and help each other make choices and plans, and talk through dilemmas with children and work and love.

But now the sense of time has shifted, and the pattern of their lives takes on a new, urgent meaning. As their shared experiences are recounted and re-lived, this funny, bittersweet ode to friendship shows how even in difficult endings, gifts can unfold.

We are giving away sets of ten paperback copies of Before Everything to ten reading groups. For the chance to read this captivating story and win a set for your group, simply tell us by the 30th of April about your reading group, why you would love to get your hands on a copy, and if you would be happy to review this title for us.

‘Gorgeous, a heartbreaker, a non-stop dazzler, a major achievement.’
Michael Cunningham

‘One of the most brilliant, radiant and heartbreaking books I’ve read in years.’
Molly Antopol

‘Redel proves that female friendship is the quiet, steady engine that truly runs the world.’
Hannah Tinti


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image