Win copies of the extraordinary An Ocean of Minutes

9781786487919

What would you give to recover the past? In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Station Eleven, a bittersweet and unforgettable love story of a couple who are at once weeks and many years apart.

We have 2 sets of 5 finished copies of Thea Lim’s extraordinary novel, An Ocean of Minutes, to give away.

To enter, email marketing@quercusbooks.co.uk and let us know a bit about your book group.


‘A buoyant, compelling tale ranging from the everyday beauty of falling in love to a frightening vision of a dystopian present day… boundless and dynamic’
Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters

‘An Ocean Of Minutes absolutely swept me away’
Red Magazine

‘The clear-eyed, evocative writing here is reminiscent of Margaret Atwood, and anyone familiar with The Handmaid’s Tale will find resonance in these pages… a devastating debut’
Toronto Star


THEIR STORY BEGINS WITH A GOODBYE.

Polly and Frank are young and in love, a lifetime together before them. But one evening in 1980, as the Texas sun sets over their shoulders, the world is suddenly pulled apart by a deadly virus. Within months, Frank is dying. Polly can save him, but only if she agrees to a radical plan: to time travel to 1993 for a corporation who can fund his life-saving treatment. She can only go forward, she cannot go back. And she must leave everything she loves behind, including Frank.

All they have is the promise of a future together: they will find each other again in twelve years’ time, in Galveston, Texas, where the sea begins.

But when something goes wrong and Polly arrives late, Frank is nowhere to be found. Completely alone, Polly must navigate a terrifying new world to find him, and to discover if their love has endured.

An Ocean of Minutes is a devastating and timely novel about courage, yearning, the cost of holding onto the past – and the price of letting it go.

News

4 Reasons to be on Social Media

Why should you be on social media? There are some offers that require groups to be active online, so by using these platforms, you’ll be eligible for more exciting opportunities. Here are our top reasons for groups to be joining in online.

Medium social media logos
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Hive and The Reading Agency

The Reading Agency loves books, in every form, and we know you do too. We love it when people borrow books in every format from their brilliant local libraries. We love it when reading groups get exclusive free proofs from our publisher partners. We love it when readers pick up a pre-loved book from a second-hand bookshop for a song. And we also love it when you buy yourself or someone else a brand new book from a high street bookshop. We also know that buying online is quick and convenient...

Medium hive