The Restless Sea by Vanessa de Haan

Restless sea front

This April sees the publication of the fascinating and deeply moving debut from Vanessa de Haan. The Restless Sea is perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Helen Dunmore, we have copies for 5 reading groups.

When your group has read the book, we’d love to hear what you think. Tweet us at @HarperFiction and @W6BookCafe using #Restless Sea.

About the book

Jack, a child of the Blitz, has fled the law to become a seaman in the Merchant Navy. The frozen world of the Russian Arctic convoys may be harsh, but it opens his eyes to a new life.

While on leave in the Navy’s secret Scottish harbour, Jack meets Olivia, the cossetted daughter of an officer family. Free to roam, Olivia relishes the new freedom granted by war. But her family – and especially the well-connected Charlie, now a fast-rising pilot – don’t welcome these changes. Least of all the arrival of Jack, the boy who casts doubt on each of their futures.

The war inflicts danger and social upheaval like never before. But the most unlikely friendships are forged in times when people live like they don’t want tomorrow to come…

Closing date 30th March 2018

News

4 Reasons to be on Social Media

Why should you be on social media? There are some offers that require groups to be active online, so by using these platforms, you’ll be eligible for more exciting opportunities. Here are our top reasons for groups to be joining in online.

Medium social media logos
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Suggestions for National Poetry Day

National Poetry Day is the annual, UK-wide celebration of poetry that brings people together to read, enjoy and share poems. With events happening all over the country as well as online, you can join in the festivities by sharing your favourite poem or poet and discovering new ones.

Medium npd all jackets