A Year of Adventurous Reading

A year of adventurous reading for tra

Quercus are excited to invite reading groups to be part of A Year of Adventurous Reading, a year-long celebration of literature in translation to mark the 10th anniversary of Maclehose Press, Quercus’ prestigious and prize-winning imprint for literature in translation.

Maclehose Press has a long history of publishing award-winning literature from around the world, and is perfectly placed to take readers on an exciting voyage of reading across the globe.

We’re offering 10 groups a set of one of the following titles.

Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes (Germany)
Atlas of Impossible Longing by Anuradha Roy (India)
The President’s Garden by Muhsin Al-Ramli (Iraq)
The Life of Rebecca Jones by Angharad Price (Wales)
A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava (USA)
An Englishman In Madrid by Eduardo Mendoza (Spain)
Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal (France)
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joël Dicker (USA)
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme by Lars Mytting (Norway)
The Bickford Fuse by Andrey Kurkov (Russia)

Groups will be asked to read and review the book and fill in questionnaire on their experience of reading literature in translation.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image