Letter to Louis by Alison White

Letter to louis

We have three sets on offer for reading groups to read and review.

About the book

This is a memoir about hope – hope in others, hope in systems, and hope for the future.

Alison is Louis’s mother. This is the true story of his traumatic birth and ensuing developmental difficulties. Alison’s experience, her faith in and her love for Louis, along with Louis’ fighting spirit and winning character, will move, inspire and challenge.

About the author

Alison White grew up in Sheffield, studied in Leeds and moved to Glasgow, where she set up her own landscape architecture business. In 1996 Alison’s first child, Louis, was delivered by emergency caesarean section at thirty-two weeks’ gestation. He suffered severe brain damage, and has cerebral palsy and learning difficulties.

In 2003 Alison left Scotland to live in remote South West Wales with her husband, Greg, and their three children, Louis, Natasha and Jack, where they still live today. There they built a house to meet Louis’s needs and were able to allow their two younger children to run wild.

To apply for copies please complete the survey below by 20 Jan. We are looking for one group in Wales to apply.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image