The Alphabet of Heart's Desire by Brian Keaney


We’re giving 10 reading groups the chance to read The Alphabet of Heart’s Desire by Brian Keaney which will be published on 16 Nov.

Six of these groups will also get a chance to meet the author. Brian Keaney will visit the winning groups to discuss the book, answer questions about how it was written and discuss the writing process in general.

About the book

In 1802 Thomas de Quincey, a young man from a comfortable middle-class background who would go on to become one of the most celebrated writers of his day, collapsed on Oxford Street and was discovered by a teenage prostitute who brought him back to her room and nursed him to health. It was the beginning of a relationship that would introduce Thomas to a world just below the surface of London’s polite society, where pleasure was a tradeable commodity and opium could seem the only relief from poverty. The Alphabet of Heart’s Desire is a novel about the birth of passion, the burden of addiction, and the consolations of literature.

For readers of Sarah Waters, Michel Faber and Emma Donoghue.

To apply for your reading group set and to be in with a chance of winning a visit from the author himself, please complete the survey.

Deadline: 17 Nov 2017


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image