Don't Skip Out on Me by Willy Vlautin

Willy vlautin don t skip out on me proof

Faber & Faber are giving 5 reading groups a set of 10 advance copies of the new Willy Vlautin novel Don’t Skip Out on Me.

Willy Vlautin is the much-loved American author of four acclaimed novels including Lean on Pete, which is being released as a major feature film in Spring 2018.
To apply, please email before Friday 3rd November with a short paragraph about your reading group and why you would like to read the novel.

Don’t Skip Out on Me

Meet Horace Hopper, a twenty-one-year-old farm hand in Tonopah, Nevada, who works for Mr Reese and his wife, the nearest thing he’s had to family in years.

But Horace, half-white, half-Paiute Indian, dreams of bigger things. Leaving behind the farm and its fragile stability, he heads South to try and re-invent himself as a boxer. Slowly, painfully, the possibility emerges that his dreams might not just be the delusions of a lost soul… but at what cost, and what of those he’s left behind?

Exploring the fringes of contemporary America, Don’t Skip Out on Me is an extraordinary work of compassion – a novel about the need for human connection and understanding – and essential reading, now more than ever.

‘I Love Willy Vlautin’s Books’ – Donna Tartt

‘This guy is a real discovery’ – Colm Tóibín

‘Full of tenderness, truth, and life’ – Guillermo Arriaga

Offer deadline: 3 Nov 2017


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image