Richard and Judy Autumn Book Club Pick: Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney

Pole star

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney is one of the Richard and Judy Book Club Picks for this coming autumn and out in paperback now. A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, this is perfect for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt.

‘A terrific and beautifully written yarn that will make readers yearn to travel and fall in love in a cold climate’The Times

‘A dazzling tale of romance and survival’The Guardian

We have 10 sets on offer for 10 lucky reading groups. Please log in and get in touch with the contact listed below to request copies for your group.

About the book

Flora Mackie was twelve when she first crossed the Arctic Circle on her father’s whaling ship. Now she is returning to the frozen seas as head of her own expedition of exploration.

Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan but his yearning for new horizons leads him to the Arctic as part of a rival expedition. When he and Flora meet there is an instant connection that slowly builds to become an all-consuming love. The affair survives the growing tensions between the two groups. Then, after one last glorious summer on the Greenland coast, Jakob joins his leader on an extended trip into the interior, with devastating results.

The stark beauty of the Arctic, where pack ice can crush a ship like an eggshell, and the empty sweep of the tundra, alternately a snow-muffled wasteland and an unexpectedly gentle meadow, are vividly evoked. Against this backdrop Stef Penney weaves an irresistible love story, a compelling look at the dark side of the golden age of exploration, and a mystery that Flora, returning one last time to the North Pole as an old woman, will finally lay to rest.

About Stef Penney

Stef Penney grew up in Edinburgh. She has degrees in Philosophy and Theology and Film and TV, and was selected for the Carlton Television New Writers Scheme and has since written and directed two short films. She is the author of The Tenderness of Wolves and The Invisible Ones.

You can find out more about Under a Pole Star and hear more from Stef Penney on Richard and Judy’s Book Club website.

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

Summer 2018 Booklist

Now that summer has arrived, we’re all looking for that perfect book to take to the beach. The Reading Agency staff have put together our ultimate summer booklist recommendations, with new and older books that we think everyone should take on their holidays. When your children go to the library to get their books for the Summer Reading Challenge, how about picking up one of these suggestions? What’s your summer book recommendation? Join in the conversation online with #summerread To download...

Thumb composite twitter
News

Meet the Newcastle City Library Poetry Group

National Poetry Day is coming up on 4 October and we’re getting ready by highlighting a few reading groups that focus on reading poetry.

Medium newcastle city group do not use elsewhere