Proof copies of The Way Back to Us by Kay Langdale

9781473618367

Hodder & Stoughton publishers are giving away 10 proof copies of Kay Langdale’s breathtaking The Way Back to Us to 5 reading groups.

To enter, please email the below contact with details about your book group, and why you want to read this book.

‘This poignant page-turner felt vividly real, making me cry and – ultimately – filling me with hope.’ (Katie Marsh, author of My Everything) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O’Farrell.

About the book

Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don’t know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy’s care who constantly watch over Anna’s parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else – including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.

And now Anna can’t seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.

As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can’t help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Closing date: 19 August

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

Summer 2018 Booklist

Now that summer has arrived, we’re all looking for that perfect book to take to the beach. The Reading Agency staff have put together our ultimate summer booklist recommendations, with new and older books that we think everyone should take on their holidays. When your children go to the library to get their books for the Summer Reading Challenge, how about picking up one of these suggestions? What’s your summer book recommendation? Join in the conversation online with #summerread To download...

Thumb composite twitter
News

Meet the Newcastle City Library Poetry Group

National Poetry Day is coming up on 4 October and we’re getting ready by highlighting a few reading groups that focus on reading poetry.

Medium newcastle city group do not use elsewhere