Valley of the Moon by Melanie Gideon

Packshot

Discover an utterly original, thoughtful and deeply compelling novel for readers who loved The Time Traveler’s Wife.

We are offering 5 reading groups the chance to win 10 copies each! We would love you to share your thoughts with us on social media @HarperFiction and @W6BookCafe using #ValleyOfTheMoon.

About the book

In the heart of the Sonoma Valley, on the edge of a sun-drenched meadow, lies the idyllic community of Greengage – where the residents wear simple clothes, lead quiet lives and whose manners could almost seem to be of another time.

Into this world stumbles single mother Lux Lysander, trying to lose herself in the peaceful beauty of the Californian countryside while her young son visits his grandparents. It’s a world far away from the unpaid bills piling up and the overwhelming sense of struggle to make ends meet.

Soon, Lux finds herself drawn into the lives of the people of Greengage, discovering not only the secret at the heart of their community but also a sense of belonging she didn’t know she was looking for. Torn between this life and her own with her son back in San Francisco, can Lux turn her back on the only place that has ever truly felt like home?

‘Lovingly handcrafted, delectable and transcendent’ ―San Francisco Chronicle

‘Beautifully written . . . a wonderful story about belonging, love and the aching certainty that there’s something more out there. . . . Sure to appeal to fans of Time and Again or The Time Traveler’s Wife’ ―Shelf Awareness (starred review)

‘Captivating’ ―Booklist

Closing date: 15 August

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

Summer 2018 Booklist

Now that summer has arrived, we’re all looking for that perfect book to take to the beach. The Reading Agency staff have put together our ultimate summer booklist recommendations, with new and older books that we think everyone should take on their holidays. When your children go to the library to get their books for the Summer Reading Challenge, how about picking up one of these suggestions? What’s your summer book recommendation? Join in the conversation online with #summerread To download...

Thumb composite twitter
News

Meet the Newcastle City Library Poetry Group

National Poetry Day is coming up on 4 October and we’re getting ready by highlighting a few reading groups that focus on reading poetry.

Medium newcastle city group do not use elsewhere