House on Cocoa Beach by Beatriz Williams

Packshot

Lose yourself in a sweeping love story this summer – perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Santa Montefiore.

We are offering 5 reading groups the chance to win 10 copies each of House on Cocoa Beach! We would love you to share your thoughts with us on social media @HarperFiction and @W6BookCafe using #HouseOnCocoaBeach.

About the book

Northern France, 1917
Virginia Fortescue has thrown convention and her respected upbringing to the wind to drive ambulances for the American Red Cross across northern France. Grinding through the mud and the trenches to bring injured and dying men back from the front, the last thing she expects to find is a handsome English doctor who won’t let her go – in spite of a wife waiting for him at home in Cornwall.

Florida, 1922
In the humid heat of Florida, Virginia Fitzwilliam must tackle the estate of her late estranged husband. After the plantation house burned to the ground with Simon Fitzwilliam inside, the shipping business he built from scratch has foundered and the mangroves have started to take back the land. The more Virginia learns about Simon and the secrets of his life, the more she fears that the dangers surrounding Simon now threaten her as well…

Closing date: 15 August

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

Summer 2018 Booklist

Now that summer has arrived, we’re all looking for that perfect book to take to the beach. The Reading Agency staff have put together our ultimate summer booklist recommendations, with new and older books that we think everyone should take on their holidays. When your children go to the library to get their books for the Summer Reading Challenge, how about picking up one of these suggestions? What’s your summer book recommendation? Join in the conversation online with #summerread To download...

Thumb composite twitter
News

Meet the Newcastle City Library Poetry Group

National Poetry Day is coming up on 4 October and we’re getting ready by highlighting a few reading groups that focus on reading poetry.

Medium newcastle city group do not use elsewhere