The Invitation by Lucy Foley

Invittaion

The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain. Not only do we have 10 sets of 10 books to give away, but we will select one lucky reading group to also receive some Italian goodies for your book group meeting and have the opportunity to ask the author questions directly over Facebook Live!

It’s 1951. In Europe’s post-war wreckage, the glittering Italian Riviera draws an eclectic cast of characters; lured by the glamour but seeking an escape.

Amongst them, two outcasts: Hal, an English journalist who’s living on his charm; and Stella, an enigmatic society beauty, bound to a profiteering husband. When Hal receives a mysterious invitation from a wealthy Contessa, he finds himself aboard a yacht headed for Cannes film festival.

Scratch the beautiful surface, and the post-war scars of his new companions are quick to show. Then there’s Stella, whose secrets run deeper than anyone’s ― stretching back into the violence of Franco’s Spain. And as Hal gets drawn closer, a love affair begins that will endanger everyone…

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop, this book invites questions on love, identity and forgiveness. Once you and your reading group have read this, we’d love you to tweet us @W6BookCafe on Twitter, #TheInvitation, to let us know what you think!

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Books to Make You Laugh and Cry #NRGD18

National Reading Group Day takes place on Saturday 16 June, in association with the Booksellers Association, and we think there could be no better time to celebrate reading groups in libraries, bookshops and communities around the country.

Medium laugh and cry jackets twitter 1200