Letting Go by Alex Hanscombe

Final letting go jacket

Read Alex’s heartbreaking true story of his mother’s brutal murder when he was just three years old, as he shares his story of redemption, and letting go.

On a beautiful July morning in 1992, just three weeks before his third birthday, Alex Hanscombe and his young mother, Rachel Nickell, went walking on Wimbledon Common. Life was never to be the same again.

Shortly after ten o’clock that morning, Alex was discovered by the side of this mother’s body. She had been assaulted and stabbed forty-nine times in a frenzied attack and left for dead. Alex, who was found covered with his mother’s blood, had been the only witness to the brutal attack. Letting Go is Alex’s story as a young man looking back on the tragedy that transformed his life.

His mother, Rachel’s, murder is a story which remains in the living memory of many people today as a shocking and tragic attack on an innocent young woman. This is a book which will prove an emotional read, and would invite discussions on grief, the media and recovering from tragedy.

We are giving away 10 copies to 5 lucky reading groups. Please tweet us your thoughts – @HarperNonFic.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image