Baileys Prize Longlist 2017

Large baileyswomen sprizeforfiction2017longlist

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction today announces the 2017 longlist. Now in its 22nd year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women in English from throughout the world. The announcement coincides with International Women’s Day 2017.

The longlist this year features three previous winners, three previously shortlisted authors, and three debut novels. Six nationalities are represented; UK, Ireland, America, Canada, South Africa and Nigeria.

The longlist

Reading Group shadowing

We have an exciting opportunity for reading groups to shadow the Prize shortlist this year. 12 lucky groups will be chosen by the Prize and will receive 10 copies of one of the shortlisted books for their group, as well as an exclusive Baileys package. In exchange, the group will read and review their title, and take part in the #BaileysPrize conversations across Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Log in and visit our Noticeboard for your chance to take part.

Not yet a member of Reading Groups for Everyone? Sign up now – it’s quick, easy and free.

Get involved

What do you think of the 2017 longlisted titles? Which have you read and do you think there are any books missing? Add your comments below, or click any title above to leave a review.

Share your thoughts with us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #BaileysPrize. Keep up with all the latest news on the Baileys Prize website.

Want to make sure you never miss the latest reading group news? Sign up for our free monthly newsletter.

Don’t miss the exciting Baileys Prize Book Bar events taking place in Waterstones, Tottenham Court Road in April. Perfect for your reading group!

Medium book bar photo


Log in or Sign up to add a comment


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image