The Wicked Cometh: The addictive historical mystery

Book
The Wicked Cometh: The addictive historical mystery by Laura Carlin

As seen:

By Laura Carlin

avg rating

1 review

Even in the darkest of times, you cannot bury the truth . . . A debut historical novel that will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and The Silent Companions.

Reviews

08 Mar 2019

WendyKent

This was billed as a perfect read for fans of Fingersmith and the Essex Serpent and it certainly didn’t disappoint. It was a page-turning rollercoaster of a ride through the back streets of Georgian London and the murky underworld in which its people lived, died and made ends meet.
Hester White’s life takes a turn for the worse when her parents die and she is taken in by their former gardener and his wife to live in London. In a tale that twists and turns, Hester enters the world of the Brocks, but all is not as it seems and she comes to realise that her new friends and their associates have much in common with her old ones. Ripe with historical detail, the story sees Hester finally putting the pieces of the complicated puzzle together, coming to a gruesome understanding of what has been going on in plain sight, and seemingly losing everything for a second time. I loved it!

From the noticeboard