Marvel Avengers The Greatest Heroes - activity pack and competition


DK are celebrating their first World Book Day title by offering libraries a wonderful Marvel Super Hero themed pack with activities for children aged 3 to 10 years old.

Focusing on DK’s World Book Day title, Marvel Avengers The Greatest Heroes, it also includes backlist titles such as Marvel Absolutely Everything You Need to Know and Marvel Avengers The Ultimate Character Guide.

These packs are ideal to be used on World Book Day (1 March) onwards!

The Reading Agency and DK would love to see how your activities and events throughout February and March. You can do this on social media using #WBDsuperpower and tag @dkbooks and @readingagency.

There is also a create your own superhero mask competition with full terms and conditions available wbdlibrarycomp webpage

Please share any entries with by 23 April. The winner will receive DK Marvel books and a £50 cinema voucher!

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image