Wonder - library activity pack including 'Ways to be 'WONDERful' checklist competition

9780552565974 read before watch flash


‘My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.’

R. J. Palacio’s Wonder is the unforgettable story of August Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. It is a funny and frank novel that has inspired kindness and acceptance in countless readers.

This autumn, Puffin are celebrating #ChooseKind with libraries across the UK, exploring the theme of kindness with children aged 8 and up, introducing them to the book ahead of the film’s release at the end of 2017.

To celebrate the book, Puffin created this amazing pack for public libraries.

The Wonder library activity pack includes:

. A selection of crafts and activities around the theme ‘Choose Kind’
. ‘Ways to be WONDERful’ checklist template
Group discussion ideas
. Thank You Certificates ‘signed’ by RJ Palacio for children who complete three kind acts from the ‘Ways to be WONDERful’ checklist

All children who complete their ‘Ways to be WONDERful’ checklist will be entered into a prize draw to win a copy of Wonder and a £50 cinema voucher.

If you use this activity pack in your libraries or schools, please send photos or feedback (how you used the provided materials and how many children and adults took part) to Kimberley.Sheehan@readingagency.org.uk.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image