Dragon's Green competition - Draw your own magical object

Dragon s green jacket

Dragon’s Green

Beat the back-to-school blues by winning a £30 National Book Tokens card and a signed book!

Dragon’s Green is the first book in the Worldquake sequence, a trilogy of books all about magic and adventure! In Dragon’s Green, Effie and her friends seem to be normal schoolchildren but when they discover their hidden Otherworld strengths, they are catapulted into the adventure of a lifetime!

If you had a hidden magical power, what would it be? What object would make it stronger?

Tell us what your hidden magical power might be! Then draw a magical object that would make it stronger to be in with a chance to win a £30 National Book Tokens card as well as one of four signed copies of Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas.

How to enter

Download the competition sheet and then get drawing! You can send us photographs of entry or or a 2d drawing of your magical object, just make sure your name and a contact email are sent with your entry.

You can send the entries by email, to Kimberley.Sheehan@readingagency.org.uk

Or by post, to
Kimberley Sheehan,
The Reading Agency,
60 Farringdon Road,

Terms and Conditions

The closing date for the competition is Friday 20 October 2017.
Competition is open to UK residents only, and entrants must be aged 12 years or under.
The judges’ decision is final.

Find out more about Dragon’s Green

You can read an extract from Dragon’s Green here and also listen to an audio clip here. You can also find out what your magical power might be by taking a fun quiz.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image