A Place Called Perfect Specs competition

Final a place called perfect front cover rgb

A Place Called Perfect

A quirky, creepy, and unforgettable adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton.

To celebrate the release of this brilliant debut by Helena Duggan, Usborne have a competition for school and libraries to run with their children. There is even a prize for you!

Download the template for children to create their own special pair of A Place Called Perfect Specs and then send us copies of the designs.

The child with the most creative pair of glasses will win a lucky dip jar full of ‘Perfect’ inspired goodies.

All teachers and librarians who run the competition and send in the entries will be entered into a prize draw to win a tea pot and selection of luxury tea bags, along with a copy of First Sticker Book Optical Illusions, and three copies of A Place Called Perfect for your library.

How to Enter

Download the competition sheet and get creative with your Chatterbooks group or class! You can send us photographs or the actual glasses but make sure the child’s name and your contact email are on them so that I can get in contact if they win.

You can send us the entries by email, to Kimberley.Sheehan@readingagency.org.uk

Or by post, to
Kimberley Sheehan,
The Reading Agency,
60 Farringdon Road,
London,
EC1R 3GA

Find out more about A Place Called Perfect

Violet never wanted to move to Perfect, but when her father is offered a job that he can’t possibly refuse at the local opticians, she’s unwillingly thrust into a town full of rose-tinted-spectacle wearers. As her own eyesight begins to deteriorate and her mother starts acting as strangely as the other residents, Violet vows to discover the secret at the heart of Perfect – and then her father disappears! With the help of the invisible Boy, and a little imagination, can Violet save her family without making too much of a spectacle?

Can you see what we see? Download our your own pair of A Place Called Perfect Specs, and find out.

Terms and conditions

• The closing date for the competition is Friday 13th October 2017.
• The competition is open to UK residents only, and entrants must be aged 12 years or under.
• The judges’ decision is final.

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad
News

Man Booker Prize – 21st Century winners

The longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, for the 2016 prize has been announced, and the chosen titles have got us thinking about books from previous years that have taken home the most prestigious of literary prizes.

Medium man booker millennium snip