Bella Figura by Kamin Mohammadi

Bella hbpackshot

It is Christmas 2008. Kamin Mohammadi is packing her possessions into her parents flat. Recently made redundant from her high-powered London job, she is burnt out, broken-hearted and full of feelings of failure. In desperate need of a change, she fees the bleak streets of London for a friend’s apartment in Florence…

We are giving away sets of ten advance reading copies of Bella Figura to three reading groups. For the chance to read this wonderful, heartwarming story and win a set for your group, simply tell us about your reading group, why you would love to get your hands on a copy, and if you would be happy to review this title for us.

About the book:

• Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love,
Frances Mayes’ Under the Tuscan Sun and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild
• Sprinkled with delicious seasonal recipes
• One woman’s journey to live well, eat well and
love well – the Italian way

Arriving in to the rain-soaked city the day after New Year, Kamin she finds herself unanchored from work, friends and family. As she roams the cobbled streets, explores the bustling, vibrant markets and meets a whole host of new companions, she discovers a new lease of life. Leaving behind her ascetic diets and compulsive exercising, she began to imitate the ways of the carefree Italian women she saw around her – the morning café rituals, the long lunches – taking pleasure in the finer things. Within weeks she had regained her health, her natural figure and her zest for life – and even a lover or two. Her hair begins to shine and her skin glows as she learns the pleasures of eating, living and loving the Italian way…

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

How to start a reading group

Interested in joining a reading group or starting one of your own? Download our quick guide to getting started.

Thumb reading between the wines with books  2
News

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image