Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race


‘A wake-up call to a country in denial’ Observer

‘A book that’s set to blow apart the understanding of race relations in this country’ Stylist

‘Essential’ Marlon James, Man Booker Prize-Winner 2015

‘One of the most important books of 2017’ Nikesh Shukla, editor of The Good Immigrant

Read book that sparked a national conversation. Exploring everything from eradicated black history to the inextricable link between class and race, Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race is the essential handbook for anyone who wants to understand race relations in Britain today.

A Sunday Times Bestseller, the book has become a cultural phenomenon garnering an amazing array of fans across the political, literary, cultural, fashion worlds and even Hollywood, including: Emma Watson, Marlon James, Brie Larson, Edward Enninful, Nikesh Shukla, Nish Kumar, Shirley Manson, Riz Ahmed Shami Chakrabarti and Diane Abbott.

We ’re giving away 5 sets of 5 books to reading groups across the UK. Once you have finished reading we’d love to hear what you thought of the book and how your group discussions went.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image