A Long Way From Home by Cathy Glass

Alwfh cathy glass jacket

Inspirational foster carer Cathy Glass is back with her latest heartbreaking true story. This shocking and moving account reveals the extreme highs and lows of the process of adoption, through the eyes of an experienced foster carer who has been called in to help.

How many heartbreaks can a little girl take?

British couple Elaine and Ian are desperately hoping to start a family of their own, and they travel half way around the world to meet little Anna, who was abandoned by her birth parents and left alone in a neglected orphanage.

But what they find at the orphanage is truly devastating…

Can little Anna find a happy home with Elaine and Ian? And why has Cathy been asked to step in and help?

We have 5 packs of 10 reading group copies to giveaway. Once you’ve read it, please do tweet us @HarperNonFic or Cathy herself @CathyGlassUK #ALongWayFromHome


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image