The Alphabet of Heart's Desire by Brian Keaney

Alphabet

We’re giving 10 reading groups the chance to read The Alphabet of Heart’s Desire by Brian Keaney which will be published on 16 Nov.

Six of these groups will also get a chance to meet the author. Brian Keaney will visit the winning groups to discuss the book, answer questions about how it was written and discuss the writing process in general.

About the book

In 1802 Thomas de Quincey, a young man from a comfortable middle-class background who would go on to become one of the most celebrated writers of his day, collapsed on Oxford Street and was discovered by a teenage prostitute who brought him back to her room and nursed him to health. It was the beginning of a relationship that would introduce Thomas to a world just below the surface of London’s polite society, where pleasure was a tradeable commodity and opium could seem the only relief from poverty. The Alphabet of Heart’s Desire is a novel about the birth of passion, the burden of addiction, and the consolations of literature.

For readers of Sarah Waters, Michel Faber and Emma Donoghue.

To apply for your reading group set and to be in with a chance of winning a visit from the author himself, please complete the survey.

Deadline: 17 Nov 2017

News

Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2
Resources

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad
News

Man Booker Prize – 21st Century winners

The longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, for the 2016 prize has been announced, and the chosen titles have got us thinking about books from previous years that have taken home the most prestigious of literary prizes.

Medium man booker millennium snip