Windblown: Landscape, Legacy and Loss - The Great Storm of 1987 by Tamsin Treverton Jones


Published to mark the 30th anniversary of The Great Storm of October 1987, WINDBLOWN is in the best tradition of English writing about our relationship with the natural world.

We’re giving 3 lucky reading groups the chance to win 10 copies of Windblown to read and review! There will also be a reading guide included. We’d love you to share your memories, photos or stories from the storm with us on Twitter, Facebook and/or Instagram #Windblown @hoddernonfic @hodderbooks and @tamsintjones

About the book

The Great Storm of 1987 is etched firmly into the national memory. Everyone who was there that night remembers how hurricane force winds struck southern Britain without warning, claiming eighteen lives, uprooting more than fifteen million trees and reshaping the landscape for future generations. Thirty years on, the discovery of an old photograph inspires the author to make a journey into that landscape: weaving her own memories and personal experiences with those of fishermen and lighthouse keepers, rough sleepers and refugees, she creates a unique portrait of this extraordinary event and a moving exploration of legacy and loss.

Praise for Tamsin Treverton Jones:

‘This meticulously researched and absorbing account… uncovers stories we may have not heard before… Beautifully written – you can almost feel the wind blowing through the pages.’ – Bath Magazine

Closing date 2 November


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Man Booker Prize – 21st Century winners

The longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, for the 2016 prize has been announced, and the chosen titles have got us thinking about books from previous years that have taken home the most prestigious of literary prizes.

Medium man booker millennium snip