National Poetry Day: 10 recommended poetry books for reading groups

National poetry day

It’s National Poetry Day on 28 September, and the theme is FREEDOM.

We’re pleased to be offering one set of 10 poetry books specifically recommended for sharing in reading groups. To find out more about this fantastic collection of books, download the notes below. To apply for the books, get in touch here.

Don’t worry if your group doesn’t tend to read poetry; we’re also sharing reading group notes from the National Poetry Day team, to help spark discussion in your groups.

Each year National Poetry Day brings together poets, poetry and literary organisations to promote the enjoyment, discovery and sharing of poetry, and hundreds of thousands of people across the UK get involved. And with poets storming the bestseller lists and prominent across Instagram and TV advertising, and the BBC marking National Poetry Day across all its channels, there’s never been a better time to celebrate.

However you celebrate, let everyone know using #NationalPoetryDay!

Closing date: 28 September


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image