Richard and Judy Autumn Book Club Pick: Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney

Pole star

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney is one of the Richard and Judy Book Club Picks for this coming autumn and out in paperback now. A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, this is perfect for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt.

‘A terrific and beautifully written yarn that will make readers yearn to travel and fall in love in a cold climate’The Times

‘A dazzling tale of romance and survival’The Guardian

We have 10 sets on offer for 10 lucky reading groups. Please log in and get in touch with the contact listed below to request copies for your group.

About the book

Flora Mackie was twelve when she first crossed the Arctic Circle on her father’s whaling ship. Now she is returning to the frozen seas as head of her own expedition of exploration.

Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan but his yearning for new horizons leads him to the Arctic as part of a rival expedition. When he and Flora meet there is an instant connection that slowly builds to become an all-consuming love. The affair survives the growing tensions between the two groups. Then, after one last glorious summer on the Greenland coast, Jakob joins his leader on an extended trip into the interior, with devastating results.

The stark beauty of the Arctic, where pack ice can crush a ship like an eggshell, and the empty sweep of the tundra, alternately a snow-muffled wasteland and an unexpectedly gentle meadow, are vividly evoked. Against this backdrop Stef Penney weaves an irresistible love story, a compelling look at the dark side of the golden age of exploration, and a mystery that Flora, returning one last time to the North Pole as an old woman, will finally lay to rest.

About Stef Penney

Stef Penney grew up in Edinburgh. She has degrees in Philosophy and Theology and Film and TV, and was selected for the Carlton Television New Writers Scheme and has since written and directed two short films. She is the author of The Tenderness of Wolves and The Invisible Ones.

You can find out more about Under a Pole Star and hear more from Stef Penney on Richard and Judy’s Book Club website.

News

Introducing our Baileys Library Ambassadors for 2017

Earlier this week we introduced you to our Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction reading groups. Now we are pleased to present our Library Ambassadors. These 3 librarians will be shadowing this year’s Prize by reading the six shortlisted titles and will also be promoting the Prize in their libraries.

Medium introduction image
Resources

How to run a reading circle

Adapted from article by Angie Simms- NATECLA News, Autumn 2010 and inspired by Oxford Bookworms. With thanks to Jenny Roden. Looking to experiment with your reading group? The reading circle is an exciting new approach which could enhance your reading group meetings. Originally designed for English language learners, the model can be applied to any reading group who wants to get creative with their approach. The model breaks down the group into five specific roles, which have been designed...

Thumb happy reading groups image with logo
News

Crime Quick Reads that everyone should read

Quick Reads One in six adults of working age in the UK find reading difficult and may never pick up a book. People’s reasons for not reading are varied: some people say they find books intimidating, that they struggle to find the time or that books are difficult or boring. Quick Reads sets out to challenge these beliefs and to show that books and reading can be for everyone. Each year we commission big name authors to write short books that are specifically designed to be easy to read....

Medium crime qr pic