House on Cocoa Beach by Beatriz Williams

Packshot

Lose yourself in a sweeping love story this summer – perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Santa Montefiore.

We are offering 5 reading groups the chance to win 10 copies each of House on Cocoa Beach! We would love you to share your thoughts with us on social media @HarperFiction and @W6BookCafe using #HouseOnCocoaBeach.

About the book

Northern France, 1917
Virginia Fortescue has thrown convention and her respected upbringing to the wind to drive ambulances for the American Red Cross across northern France. Grinding through the mud and the trenches to bring injured and dying men back from the front, the last thing she expects to find is a handsome English doctor who won’t let her go – in spite of a wife waiting for him at home in Cornwall.

Florida, 1922
In the humid heat of Florida, Virginia Fitzwilliam must tackle the estate of her late estranged husband. After the plantation house burned to the ground with Simon Fitzwilliam inside, the shipping business he built from scratch has foundered and the mangroves have started to take back the land. The more Virginia learns about Simon and the secrets of his life, the more she fears that the dangers surrounding Simon now threaten her as well…

Closing date: 15 August

News

Introducing our Baileys Library Ambassadors for 2017

Earlier this week we introduced you to our Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction reading groups. Now we are pleased to present our Library Ambassadors. These 3 librarians will be shadowing this year’s Prize by reading the six shortlisted titles and will also be promoting the Prize in their libraries.

Medium introduction image
Resources

How to run a reading circle

Adapted from article by Angie Simms- NATECLA News, Autumn 2010 and inspired by Oxford Bookworms. With thanks to Jenny Roden. Looking to experiment with your reading group? The reading circle is an exciting new approach which could enhance your reading group meetings. Originally designed for English language learners, the model can be applied to any reading group who wants to get creative with their approach. The model breaks down the group into five specific roles, which have been designed...

Thumb happy reading groups image with logo
News

Crime Quick Reads that everyone should read

Quick Reads One in six adults of working age in the UK find reading difficult and may never pick up a book. People’s reasons for not reading are varied: some people say they find books intimidating, that they struggle to find the time or that books are difficult or boring. Quick Reads sets out to challenge these beliefs and to show that books and reading can be for everyone. Each year we commission big name authors to write short books that are specifically designed to be easy to read....

Medium crime qr pic