Shadow the Man Booker Prize 2017

Longlist stack

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, is recognised as the leading prize for high quality literary fiction written in English.

We have a great opportunity for six of our reading groups to shadow this year’s Man Booker Prize. If successful, your group will receive a set (10 copies) of one of the shortlisted titles in return for your reviews and feedback, as well as joining in the conversation about the prize online.

To apply, please log in and fill in your details below by Friday 1 September.

Not yet a member of Reading Groups for Everyone? Sign up here

Discover the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. There is a fantastic breadth of talent across the chosen books, including a former winner, several shortlisted authors, and three debut novelists, and every book is packed with fascinating and challenging content.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image