Love crime fiction? Faber needs your reading group


Does your reading group enjoying reading crime fiction? If so, we need your help.

We’re looking for two enthusiastic reading groups to travel to the Faber offices in London, to share your thoughts on four of their key crime authors. You’ll be asked questions on everything from the front cover to the marketing copy. After the focus groups have taken place, you’ll be given two titles to take away and read in your groups, as well as a Faber goody bag, before feeding back your reviews and whether the books met your expectations.

To apply, please complete this short survey by 3 September so we can get a sense of your reading group habits. The two winning groups will be selected after the closing date.

Reasonable train travel costs will be covered (we aren’t able to cover accommodation/taxi costs) and we’ll do our best to work around your schedules for the sessions.


Podcasts for Book Lovers

We’ve put together a list of our favourite reading related podcasts for you to enjoy. From celebrity storytelling to a tour of the fascinating connections between Shakespeare and the world around us, there should be something to suit all tastes.

Medium group 2

The Underground Railroad - Readers' Guide

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Discover the 13 brilliant books that have been chosen for the 2017 Man Booker Dozen. You can download a Readers’ Guide for longlisted title The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead by clicking below.

Thumb colson whitehead the underground railroad

Arthur C Clarke Centenary

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

Medium sci fi image